top of page

Poems by Tom

The Rumour

Published by: Laurentian Printing Services

Laurentian University’s Literary Journal

Title: Sulphur Volume 3

Poetry: The Rumor

 

Once I swallowed a rumor unspoiled black and shiny like a marble, it was fun to play with. It gave me a quiet, confident, coolness like an extra serving of dessert, like butterflies in your stomach. Until the right recipe 1 part alcohol 1 part needfulness 2 parts testosterone or estrogen Mix together and add insecurity as needed. The outer shell started to melt, like bread it began to rise. I became anxious to feed the chirping birds. They sat around me perched on the edge of their seats, bodies stretched forward, leaning into me. Eyes wide staring intently, listening to every word as if it were chocolate. It launched out of my mouth, ran down my eyes, leaked from my ears, and vibrated from my fingers. It spattered onto the floor like dog vomit. Which the sitting crows picked clean leaving a non-discriminatory stain. They cawed themselves into a murderous fire of righteousness, then flew out the window. I was left standing there cold, wet and hungry. Like a plucked chicken staring into the mirror. I didn't recognize myself. So, I hung my head, picked up my marbles and went home

- Thomas Leduc


Poems
bottom of page